A very merry crazy christmas

25 Dec

Bangkok's impression of Rudolf the Reindeer

Christmas in Bangkok is not quite the same as a Belgian one. No white xmas with the 32° here, but I got my teeth whitened instead. I treated myself to lots of presents, by going on a ‘shop-till-u-drop’ excursion in the wholesale mall. I dropped (my baht) big time! (I left with one bag, but will return with 3 suitcases…)

  • Luckily I bumped into some ‘family’ (well, some guys part of the family, as they say) to welcome baby jesus in a very happy & merry mood.

Dreaming of a white Xmas

A laser white smily xmas

I was dreaming of a white christmas alright, but with 32 degrees Celsius here and sitting outside on a terrace in a Thai-style mini-T-shirt, it just wasn’t gong to happen. But instead I walked into a dental clinic on the 25th December (a normal day here) on my last shopping spree before returning home and I got my teeth laser-whitened.

  • So I had a white bright smiling christmas after all ;-)

A merry hung-over christmas

I met an American fellow traveller… at the Golden Banana pool in Siem Reap, where else! I was just writing away on my blog and all of a sudden Leo, being his American super social self, offered me a drink. I was taken by surprise, but once I was back on my feet we started chatting and we haven’t stopped talking since.

A little hill tribe hat to make Santa jealous

I suspect he wasn’t just being social, maybe there was something more in the air (but I just kept it there, in the air, except for an occasional ‘accidental’ touch here and there ;-) I think he sort of found out quickly that it was not going to happen, but we continued playing anyway. He was simply a great guy to hang out with.

So to my big surprise, the next day he was on the same Bangkok bound bus with me for some more ‘hanging out’ (as they call it). To celebrate christmas eve, we descended upon Silom Soi 4 (baby jesus forbid). One daiquiri, turned into 2 and then into 3 and 4 and me not used to drinking. So at some stage we started joking around with the vendors passing by and we ended up with 4 sets of fake tattoo sleeves and a hill-tribe pointy hat.

  • I’m sure Santa would have been jealous of it

Christmas ‘winter’ blues

Xmas up in the sky...bar (64th floor - makes you dizzy)

The great fun the evening before meant that the next morning I still felt the omnipresence of the daiquiris. Combine that with exotic temperatures and aircon, and I had a stuffed nose as a result, sort of a cold. This time not of the snow, but because of the heat!

So to get better I filled the sink with boiling water and hung a towel over my head to inhale the vapour. Normally you’d put all kind of eucalyptus and other herbs in the water but since I didn’t have that in my pocket, I just threw in a few tea bags… And a paracetamol ;-)

  • That got me started for the great christmas craze

An A-typical christmas

Some of the shopping damage

So what do you normally do on christmas day? Stay at home, spend time with family, presents under the christmas tree,.. Well, I’m not home, there’s no family here, no presents, nor Christmas trees (well some imitations for tourists),…

So instead:

  • I went shopping because everything is just open as usual – that’s another few boy shorts, mini swimming trunks, tighter than tight T-shirts, etc
  • I left with only one medium backpack, but had to invest in 2 new suitcases to be able to carry back all my shopping results (luckily this only happens once every 3 years!)
  • I treated myself to a teeth whitening session – for a great xmas smile (third of the price from what it costs in Belgium) – so you might not recognise me next time we meet (and keep your sunglasses handy to face my colgate smile)
  • Went for drinks in the Skybar (rooftop terrace of the 2nd highest building in BKK) – well one overpriced drink that is – but the view is gorgeous

Well, let’s say it’s a change from the traditional Belgian christmas ;-)

.


Leave a Reply

