Kaupthing goes Keytrade – I got my money back

16 Jul
Bye bye Kaupthing - never again

Bye bye Kaupthing Edge super accounts - never again

It only took them 10 months since October 08. Finally I got my money back from the Icelandic bank from Luxemburg: Kaupthing. They went bust in October last year when the bad banking dominoes started toppling over dragging down half of the economy and financial markets. After negotiating with Libyan sheiks and British millionaires, they decided to sell the Kaupthing leftovers to another (dodgy?) bank:

Hello Keytrade - but not for long (but thanx for saving my savings anyway)

Hello Keytrade - but not for long (but thanx for saving my savings anyway)

Keytrade (with only half of the interest rate left over ;-( Then it took another month for the European Commission to decide if this was a good idea (giving people their savings back) according European rules and only last week they decided to give them a green light.

  • So all of a sudden I have money again!
  • Any suggestions what I should do with it? Buy a house (well, a small part of a house)? Where? Go on a world trip? (oh yeah, I just did that…)  So what else?
Leave a Reply

