Life at the beach

13 May
Life's a beach - or was it bitch?

Life's a beach - or was it bitch?

I guess it was one of those moments where I just naturally slowed down after all the back’n’forth between cities and countries; Bali, JogJa, Solo, KL, Singapore, Melaka and Georgetown in less than 2 weeks was a bit too much. So what was planned as 2-3 days at the beach turned out to be a week.

The lovely guesthouse was part of the attraction – and I moved to a bungalow literally ON the beach for the last few days – so I would wake up walk 5 meters and take a refreshing bath in the blue sea. Gorgeous. At night I would fall asleep with the sound of the waves gently penetrating the antique wooden shutters.

So what does one do at the beach?

The view from my beach bunglow

The view from my beach bunglow

I would describe it as: “a bit of nothing”: people watching, sunbathing, food-hunting, internetting,…

And there’s funny people to watch: finding out a bit about the relations between the different Malaysians (read more here).

  • On the beach, the Indians seem to be the hagglers, the ones trying to sell you parasailing, jetski-rides, banana-boats, horse-tours, etc – or they sell you the Roti style pancakes (lovely for breakfast) – and they run the tailor shops
  • The headscarfed Muslim women man the Malaysian food stands: the Nasi Kandar stands where you get a ladle of rice and then you just scoop up the meat and veg from the vitrine display – self service (very much like Masakan Padang in Indonesia).
  • The Chinese are kings and queens of the chops and (sit down) restaurants, and the bars (as the muslim Malays are not suppose to drink or sell alcohol).
New beachwear - Burkha?

New beachwear - Burkha?

On the beach itself the most funny creatures are the extreme muslim women in burkha or chador (the complete black covering, only leaving the eyes uncovered, even though some go as far as to put a see through scarf over their eyes!)… I suppose they’re holidaymakers from te middle East (cuz Malaysians are not that extremely covered – they only wear headscarf). Besides the full length black cover, they then wear the most fancy jewelry (diamonds and all sorts of glitters), designer handbags and sunglasses bigger than their head.

Strange sight: Burkha woman on Quad

Strange sight: Burkha woman on Quad

And then imagine the women in burkha going for parasailing – like a black phantom fluttering underneath a rainbow colour parachute. Or sitting behind their husband (I suppose) on a Jetski, burkha and all, getting completely soaked !!! For me these were 2 different worlds colliding… so I just had to smile, lying there in my Thai (very) skimpy swimming briefs, soaking up the sun.

My days looked a bit like this:

  • Keeping busy

    Keeping busy

    wake up with the birds, or wild monkeys, or the waves, or the sun peeking through the window

  • I go down to make a coffee and I rub the sleep out of my eyes while orally injecting my daily dose of caffeine (sponsored by Nescafe)
  • either go for a dip in the sea, or in the internet. I finally had some time to write and update my blog.
  • when hunger (or boredom) kicks in I go for a stroll among the numerous cafés and have breakfast (often at lunch time) – that can be Indian banana roti, some Malay breakfast soup or rice or a decent Western breakfast (with eggs, bacon and sausage). I couldn’t find any muesli here though (not enough Germans here).
  • Doing the odd sighseeing around the island

    Doing the odd sighseeing around the island

  • I’ll go for a little walk or a little snooze, maybe a little swim.
  • And I could finally start reading the 1kg book that I’m carrying around on my back already since Cambodia
  • at 5pm I’m getting ready for sunset – the hightlight of the day – mostly I cuddle up in a comfy chair of my favourite sunset bistro – sipping a beer, listening to the mellow music and the sun going down
  • when the sun’s performance is finished on the sky’s stage, I’d go and have a shower (it’s hot here) and walk around to find some dinner.
  • and to finish off the day, I’d go star gazing on the terrace of the LAB beach bar with the most bitchy and surreal trans serving cocktails
  • and back to bed, off to dream land with the lullaby of the waves

Heeeelp

And then I realized that I arrived in my last month of traveling, when I took my last Malaria pill (only foreseen for 4 months)… Not sure if I want to go back home – to the real thing – or stay in this lazy life on the beach – but at the same time very fake…

Leave a Reply

