Crashing a motorbike in Kampot

5 Apr
Me and my motorbike crash...

Me and my motorbike crash...

As I grew to know the ‘Kep Ville’, I set out to explore a bit the wider surroundings and rented a motorbike (for a futile 6$) to roam around the national park and to visit Kampot – the city nearby. I had to dodge a rain storm and seek refuge in the shack road-side restaurant of an old lady, but water doesn’t do much damage. It was later when I was in a picture mood, that I turned around the motorbike a bit too sharply to take the perfect picture, that the damage happened. The road was slippery, the bike turned in a wider circle than I thought, and of course there was a concrete pole just there to mark the road side. My front mud guard banged onto the pole and burst into pieces… Shiiiiit.

  • Some pics below…

I heard of all the horror stories of calm Asian people that loose their wits when it comes to quarrels about

The motorbike from Kep Ville

The motorbike from Kep Ville

traffic accidents, as there is no police, nor insurance intervention whatsoever, nor clear traffic rules (everybody would have been breaking them simultaneously anyway). I even read in the newspaper a story about someone crashing his car, named and shamed, but who pledged he would pay for the damage caused (from his own pocket). But in my case, the road side pole didn’t argue too much – and the owner of the rental motorbike actually started apologizing because poor me had had an accident. A few smiles later, he came back with the bill of the repair shop – a whole 10$… So the whole affair ended well.

Driving around Kampot

Kampot riverside

Kampot riverside

Kampot is a bad excuse for a city (it is more like a big village), but there is an old town with some left-over French colonial buildings (that are falling into ruin – more here) and there are supermarkets and internet-cafes (my new criteria for calling a place a city). After 3 months of traveling it is a relief to actually be able to go into a room (mostly sort of a garage) with actual shelves, products on them and prices labeled on the goods… (as opposed to road side table with some wares and lots of negotiating to get a good price out of them).

It’s in Kampot that I actually bought my first bottle of wine in 3 months. There was also a German woman that opened the Salt and Pepper bakery (near the White Horse on the road to Kep). The first ‘real’ bread that I had in months (with some texture or grains inside, instead of the pre-fabricated sponge bread or imitation French baguettes which are good but not quite the same). It would have been heaven if I would have found some nice cheese with that, but I didn’t get further than a can of tuna with mayonnaise (which smelled and tasted like a can of cat food) to spread on the bread.

Kep National Park route

Kep National Park route

Kep national park

Below you can also find some pictures of the tour I did around the Kep natural park – which is basically the whole of the hill that dominates Kep. Besides a temple (which looks like a wedding cake) and a few ruins of French villas, there’s nothing much there, but there are a few nice views (if it weren’t too foggy & rainy).

.

.

Leave a Reply

